Write log book

Depending on what type(s) of log books your trainers have decided to use in the event, you can see:

 The name of each log book is listed, along with its type (individual, group, documentation log book, placement log book), number of posts composed by you, your trainer and anyone else (applies only to  project group log books).

Click the log book name to open it and add new posts or read entries composed by you, your trainer and anyone other participants.

Compose a new post in a log book

Click New post and enter a title and text. You can attach files - any images you attach are displayed directly in the post.

Compose a log book post from the event's content (only applies to individual log books)

If your trainer has configured writing log book posts directly from content pages in the event, a Personal log book button will appear on each page:


 

Simply click the button to write a post in your log book. A text field opens directly in the view you are currently in. Compose your post and then click Save to add it to your log book. The log book post will automatically include a link to the content page you wrote in. You can also click the Previous link to see earlier log book posts.

 

About the Documentation log book

The Documentation log book is a type of log book that makes it easier to manage the flow of documentation from teachers in events. Teachers can add entries for several learners simultaneously. Entries can be tagged which means it is easier to link activities to curriculum objectives (Lpfö 98/2010 and big5).

Comment on entries

You are able to write comments on teachers' entries. Comments written by you, the teacher and your parent/guardian are shown in a thread directly under the entry. If you move your mouse pointer over a comment that you've written, a little red cross appears in the top right hand corner. Clicking this deletes the comment, replacing it with "Your comment has been deleted" in the corresponding position in the thread. Parents/guardians, children and teachers can only delete comments that they themselves have written. Only mentors can delete comments written by others.

All of your documentation log books in one place

As a course participant using the Documentation log book, you need never worry about what will happen to your log book entries when you no longer have access to a GUL event (unlike with individual and project group log books - see below). You will always be able to view your entries and your trainers' entries here: Personal > Documentation log book in the main menu. There you can view a documentation log book that compiles entries from all your events. Entries can be filtered them by Year/Month, Tags and Event.

About the Placement log book

The Placement log book is an individual log book to use when you are out on work placement. Entries can include text, images and other types of attached files.

Comment on entries

You are able to write comments on teachers' entries. Comments written by you and your teacher are shown in a thread directly under the entry. If you move your mouse pointer over a comment that you've written, a little red cross appears in the top right hand corner. Clicking this deletes the comment, replacing it with "Your comment has been deleted" in the corresponding position in the thread. You can only delete comments that you yourself have written. 

All of your Placement log books in one place

If you have more than one placement log book from different events and want to look at them together, go to Personal > Log books in the main menu. Under My own log books you can see all your placement log books listed.

Placement log book in GUL Mobile

The GUL Mobile app allows you to easily update your Placement log book with new entries. 

Preserving log book posts (does not apply to documentation log books)

Your individual log books and project group log books are linked to the specific event in which they are kept. This means that access to your own log book posts is available as long as you have access to the event you wrote them in. You therefore may want to save your log books to guarantee future access, long after you have left an event. This is what you can do:

Save log books in your portfolio: If the Portfolio function has been activated in the event containing your log book, you can save your own and your groups' log books in your portfolio. From within your log book, click Add to Portfolio and the current version of your log book is then added in the form of a PDF. You will then be able to access this document from Main menu > Personal.

Print your log book: The log book's top menu includes a Print command allowing you to print the current log book including all posts. If your system supports it, choose Save as PDF in your printer menu and you can save your log book as a file.

Source: PING PONG Help